Conference acknowledgements and introduction

Welcome to the Conference

A very warm welcome to the 18th Australasian Cave and Karst Management Conference. This is the third ACKMA Conference to be held in the south west corner of Western Australia, the first held in 1981 at Yallingup was attended by 24 delegates, the second at Margaret River in 1991 was attended by 47 delegates, and this, the third, is expected to be attended by over 90 delegates (though *please* don't ask me the final number until after the conference!)

The Leeuwin-Naturaliste area in the South-west of Western Australia is an area of great natural charm and beauty. A stunning coastline of white sandy beaches interspersed with rocky headlands is fringed by limestone reefs and world class surf. Other natural features are the majestic forests, the south west's largest river, the Blackwood, and of course, the caves.

Caves were the first 'tourist attractions' in the region, and indeed within the south west of W.A., with many being opened for tours in the early years of the 20th Century. The earliest reserves (part of the present day Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park) were put aside for 'protection of caves and flora health and pleasure resort'.

Today the caves remain a great attraction, though now the region is known for much, much more. Vineyards producing world acclaimed wines, boutique breweries, fine dining, arts and crafts, chocolate, cheeses, and olives are just some of the attractions.

The Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park, stretching 110km between Cape Naturaliste in the north and Cape Leeuwin in the south encompasses most of the remaining forested areas and includes much of the limestone in the area.

Four small enclaves within the National Park are vested in the two local tourism associations and contain the major show caves – Ngilgi, Mammoth, Lake and Jewel.

The conference hosts are the Department of Environment and Conservation, the agency that manages Western Australia's National Parks and the 100's of caves and karst features within them, including Calgardup, Giants, Crystal (Yanchep National Park); the Augusta Margaret River Tourism Association, manager of Caveworks, Mammoth, Lake and Jewel Caves; and Geographe Bay Tourism Association, manager of Ngilgi Cave.

Those of us fortunate enough to make this place our home proudly welcome you to this beautiful part of the world.

Anne Wood
Conference Convenor



Anne Wood. Photo: Kent Henderson

Acknowledgements

Thanks must go to the conference organizing committee comprising Jay Anderson, Ross Anderson, Renee Mouritz, Tracey Robins, Neil Taylor, Rauleigh Webb, Candace Williams and Peter Wood for their valuable time and input. Thanks must also go to Jayme Hatcher for her work in the initial stages of conference organisation.

I would like to make special mention of Jay Anderson for all her work organizing the pre and post conference trips, Rauleigh Webb and Ken Grimes for producing the Conference Field Guide, Kent Henderson for producing the Conference Handbook and providing ongoing advice and support (and harassment!), Ross Anderson for organizing the workshop for Wednesday afternoon, and Peter Wood for his support and assistance in many ways too numerous to list (feel welcome to ask Peter for details).

Thanks also to the many members of the caving fraternity for their help during the conference and to Molloy Island Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade for the use of their laptop and projector for the presentation of papers.

Sponsors

The Department of Environment and Conservation (DEC) is the major sponsor of the Conference, contributing resources, staff time and coordination of volunteers to organize and manage the event. DEC also provided funding for the conference satchel, and DEC publications – *The Caves of Western Australia* and *Discovering the Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park*. Thanks also to DEC for the venue of some conference events, Wharncliffe Eco Discovery Centre, and entry into Calgardup Cave, Giants Cave, Golgotha Cave and other caves of the Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park. DEC has also provided entry to Yanchep National Park and Crystal Cave during the pre-conference study tour.

The Augusta Margaret River Tourism Association has contributed staff time, the *Caveworks* centre, Lake Cave and staff for the opening event and entry to Mammoth, Lake and Jewel Caves. AMRTA has provided the venue and refreshments for the interpretation workshop, which is being held prior to the commencement of the conference.

Geographe Bay Tourism Association has provided staff time and entry into Ngilgi Cave.

Stella Bella Wine has provided wine for the welcome BBQ and two other evenings.

Christian Fletcher Photo Images has provided a print to the value of \$550 and cards for each delegate.

This assistance is of all these organisations and supporters is gratefully acknowledged.

Yours in Cave and Karst Management,

Anne Wood,
Conference Convenor.



Caveworks, Margaret River .Photo - Kent Henderson



Interpretation at Calgardup Cave. Photo - Kent Henderson



Conference Photo, Margaret River, Western Australia (R. Webb. photo)

List of delegates

(alphabetically arranged)

- 1. Jay Anderson
- 2. Ross Anderson
- 3. Ann Augusteyn
- 4. Peter Austen
- 5. Dr. Claire Baker
- 6. Steven Bourne
- 7. John Brush
- 8. David Butler
- 9. Dale Calnin
- 10. Peter Buzzacott
- 11. Deborah Carden
- 12. Peter Chandler
- 13. Libby Chandler
- 14. Brian Clark
- 15. Arthur Clarke
- 16. Marjorie Coggan
- 17. Julia Coggins
- 18. Brian Combley
- 19. Travis Cross
- 20. Daniel Cove
- 21. Brett Dalzell
- 22. Geoff Deer
- 23. Trish Deer
- 24. Kirsty Dixon
- 25. Brett Farquharson
- 26. Rob Foulds
- 27. Hein-Jacques Gerstner
- 28. Dr. Grant Gartrell
- 29. Alan Griffin
- 30. Peter Grills
- 31. Ken Grimes
- 32. Lindsay Hatcher
- 33. David Hay
- 34. Nic Haygarth
- 35. David Head
- 36. Nicholas Heath
- 37. Kent Henderson
- 38. Dr. Julia James
- 39. Cassandra Jury
- 40. Geoff Kell
- 41. Rob Klok
- 42. Sasa Kennedy
- 43. Lisa King
- 44. Moira Lipyeat
- 45. Greg Martin
- 46. Derek Mason
- 47. Mary Mccabe

- 48. Will Mccutcheon
- 49. Mandy Mclauchan-Andrews
- 50. Timothy Moulds
- 51. Dr. David Merritt
- 52. Renee Mouritz
- 53. Jeff Murray
- 54. Patrick Nykiel
- 55. Rhonda Oshanek
- 56. Meegan Overstone
- 57. Carolina Paice
- 58. Barry Richard
- 59. Tracey Robins
- 60. David Rowling
- 61. Bian Rumei
- 62. Catherine Sellars
- 63. Chester Shaw
- 64. Jeffry Simun
- 65. Andy Spate
- 66. David Summers
- 67. Robert Susac
- 68. Simon Taylor
- 69. Dianne Vavryn
- 70. Dr. John Watson
- 71. Van Watson
- 72. Rauleigh Webb
- 73. Mike Winn
- 74. Anne Wood
- 75. Peter Wood
- 76. Philip Wood
- 77. Barbara Zakrzewska

Part Time Attendees

- 78. Sophie Bishop
- 79. Alan Briggs
- 80. Shane Downes
- 81. Jared Drummond
- 82. Brett Huntly
- 83. Gary Hunton
- 84. Clint Kirkham
- 85. Dawn Klok
- 86. Dr. Brenton Knott
- 87. Sonia Lamond
- 88. Christie Mahony
- 89. Robyn Mcbeath
- 90. Phil Mcguigan
- 91. Drew Mckenzie
- 92. Paul Morton93. Inga Price
- 94. Alison Prichard
- 95. Judy Shaw
- 96. Jenny Tattam
- 97. Sharon Thwaites
- 98. Candace Williams
- 99. Dennis Williamson
- 100.Brett Woodroffe 101.Renata Zelinova